Jill Barber: Who Are You and Why Do We Care?

Often times in love and life, I get a little jaded. I stop to think that maybe this whole “stars aligning”, falling in love, and finding your true passion might not work out, but then I read about someone like singer, songwriter Jill Barber who seemingly has always followed her inner voice. If you have been lucky enough to catch the smooth, sultry sounds of Jill in person or have heard any of her songs (my personal fave is Took Me By Surprise) you will probably find yourself tapping your toes or dancing on air around the room. Its just the type of music that picks you up and get you in that happy, romantic mood. Her sound breaks barriers (with influences by Ella Fitzgerald) and is just the thing we need right now in this world. I admire her artistic touch and unwavering ability to always follow her heart.

VG: Who are you?

JB: I am a modern day torch singer performing original material reminiscent of classic standards.  I was born in Toronto, followed my heart to the east coast, then later followed my heart to the west coast, where I now live with my husband. I guess you could call me a romantic?

VG: What makes you tick?

JB: Bike rides. Road trips into the wilderness. My husband’s blue eyes. Being on stage playing music with my band. Cocktails with friends. Good food. Record players. The south of France. People who cheer loudly. Champagne popping. Amazing people doing amazing things. Men that wink. Hat revivalists. My incredible family.

VG: Name your top 5 personality traits or characteristics that you feel have enabled you to be so successful.

JB: I always follow my heart, I don’t let pride stand in my way, I’ve assembled a great team around me, I take advice, and I make those around me feel appreciated (my team, my band, my fans.)

VG: Why do we care?

JB: I’m bringing back the romance, and providing a soundtrack to your perfect evening, whether it’s a night on the town, or sipping wine by the fire.

VG: Tell me a secret (really, tell me a secret).

JB: I’m a fan of Lionel Richie.  There, I said it.

VG: Where are you?

JB: On a tour bus driving between Montreal and Drummondville, QC.

VG: What did you have for lunch?

JB: It’s still morning, but for breakfast I had a bowl of Fiber 1 with almonds, blueberries and keffir.

VG: Paste your last Tweet here:

JB: “Picking up the tour right where we left off… In La Belle Province!! Tonight in beautiful Beloeil, QC at the Centre Culturel de Beloeil.”

VG: So now what?

JB: In 5 years I see myself balancing touring life with family life, making new records, and becoming a better cook!  What does it take?  I think it takes asking yourself where you see yourself in 5 years, and making it so!

Make sure you follow Jill on twitter @jillbarber for all the latest updates on her tour schedule and releases!

About vanguardpr

The Vanguard is a full-service public relations and branding agency representing cutting edge fashion, beauty, and lifestyle accounts. We sp
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Personality Profiles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

