Jillian Harris: Who Are You and Why Do We Care?

Our next Person of Interest is one of my favorite people in the entire world and I’m not just saying that because she’s my client. Jillian Harris is one of the most genuine, sincere, honest and caring people I know. She is just like she is portrayed on tv with  her bubbly, friendly personality and it’s no wonder that so many people fell in love with her when they first saw her on the Batchelor/Batchelorette. I can’t tell you how many times I hear from a reporter or editor that has just interviewed Jillian and told me how much they love her and how she makes you feel so at ease. Jillian is the type of person that would give you the sweater off her back if you were cold. So it’s no wonder that she is now helping to change lives and share her love of design on the hit show, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition on ABC. She’s got a heart of gold and she is our next Person of Interest.

VG: Who are you?

JH: To many who haven’t met me, I am small town girl who introduced her self to the reality-tv-loving world on the Bachelor & Bachelorette. Hopefully many of them caught wind that I am also a designer who loves to laugh, love, and chit chat. I am also now a designer on the show Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, which just happens to be my dream job.  But to me, if I were to think of who ‘I’ am, I think of a fun-loving, hyper creative soul.  I am a sensitive, open-minded, and determined small town girl. I am successful, however with much to learn and far to go.  I am a good daughter and good friend, but continue to do better and try harder.  I also love Tomatoes, Campfires, Frye Boots, Grandma & laughing till I cry, or just crying for the sake of it!

VG: What makes you tick?

JH: Resilience: In the past, when life brought me adversity, I would allow myself to fall to my knees and hurt, but quicker than you can say “it’s going to be ok” I will shoot back up and fire back with double the force of the hurt. Creativity: I actually think creativity for me is the fact that I am a bit outrageous and nothing is impossible, so I have a very creative imagination. It has gotten me into trouble many times, but for the most part it’s helped me get to where I am today. Sensitivity:  Ask any ex of mine, I’m not afraid to cry! I used to think this was a flaw, but be assured I’m not changing it anytime soon. How awful would it be if I closed up this heart of mine? I love to be sensitive, it just comes with my package. Humor: I find pretty much everything funny, it’s something my dad instilled in me at a very young age.  Even if it’s not intended to be funny, I’ll try to find the humor in it. Again, this has gotten me into trouble, but most times I  can turn an awkward or sad situation into a giggle. Adventurous: I learned this one from my mom and I can thank her for the countless places I have traveled, the planes I’ve jumped out of , the beaches I’ve camped on, the roller coasters I’ve threw up on, the TV show’s I’ve landed on and the people I’ve met along the way. Thanks mom!

VG: Why do we Care?

JH:Like anyone, I feel like I have a long way to go when it comes to changing the world, but I DO try.  I am environmentally aware and my heart breaks for our lovely mother earth when I think of how we treat her.  I do avidly recycle, reclaim and reuse items. I think twice before tossing ANYTHING into the garbage.  I try to educate others around me and share my passion without nagging or preaching.

VG: So now what?

JH: I don’t believe in 5 year plans anymore. In the past, I pushed myself towards goals that I  ‘thought’ were right for me, but 5 years down the road it turned out they weren’t. As simple as still being happy, working hard, being creative, and surrounding myself with those I love and continuing to laugh daily … I have no plan!

Follow Jillian on twitter @jillianharris and check out her brand new site jillianharris.com.

Photo courtesy of OK! Magazine.

About vanguardpr

The Vanguard is a full-service public relations and branding agency representing cutting edge fashion, beauty, and lifestyle accounts. We sp
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

